Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English 9 Themes and Literary Elements Research: Home

Welcome

Here are some very useful databases and research tips for your project. Remember, if you need to access any of the databases from home, you will need to refer to the Database Password Sheet. If you have any issues, please contact Ms. Stump (cstump@grantbulldogs.org).

Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Tips and tricks for navigating Opposing Viewpoints In Context: 

REMEMBER: When doing research, only search for your key terms! Using full sentences will not help you!

1. While using this database, it will be beneficial to conduct an Advanced Search (the little link is under the search box at the top of the page).

2. Enter one key term per box (ex. identity AND development; fortune AND greed; wealth AND happiness)

3. If your key term is two words, put them in quotation makes ("personal reflection"; "family relations"; "moral code")

4. Select either magazines or newspapers to limit your results.

5. READ THE SOURCE! If you don't think the source connects to your theme, choose a different one!

6. Send the source to your Google Drive by clicking on the Drive triangle near the top of the article. This will also save the citation information. All sources from this database will be saved to a folder titled "Gale In Context Opposing Viewpoints," and your can share your articles with your group.

7. You will need to make the connections between your theme, sources, and literary element! 

EBSCO Ultra Online

Tips and tricks for navigation Ultra Online:

REMEMBER: When doing research, only search for your key terms! Using full sentences will not help you!

1. In the search box, type the word AND between your key words if you are search multiple key words at once (ex. injustice AND change; identity AND development; fortune AND greed; wealth AND happiness)

2. In the search box, you will want to put your key words in quotation marks if it is two or more words (ex. "personal reflection"; "family relations")

3. After hitting enter, limit your search results by selecting the drop-down menu "Source type" under the search box and select "Magazines" and "News" and click "Apply". If you do not see the "Source type" drop-down menu, select "All filters" and click on the drop-down menu for "Source type" through there and select "Magazines" and "News"

4. When you find an article you wish to read, click on the title and it may say "Access PDF" or "Access Options" which will give you the choice of online full-text or PDF. 

5. READ THE SOURCE! If you don't think the source connects to your theme, choose a different one.

6. If you want to save the source to your Google Drive, click on the right pointing arrow at the top right corner and select Google Drive. The database will request access and make a folder titled "EBSCO" and all resources you save from this database will be dropped into that folder that you can share with your group. If sharing to Drive isn't working, you can click "Create Link" or Email. If you create a link, you can copy that link into a Google Doc. 

7. In order to save the citation, click on the open quotation mark, and click on the style drop-down menu and select MLA 9th edition. Click "Copy to clipboard" and paste it in a Google Document. 

8.  You will need to make the connections between your theme, sources, and literary element!